Three Ashland High Grizzlies were third-team selections and two more were honorable mentions on the Midwestern League all-star boys basketball team, voted on recently by the league’s coaches.

Ashland seniors Peyton Fuller and Malik Pippa and junior Anthony Swanson each picked up enough votes to land on the third team, and seniors Jake Hansen and McKane Ellis were honorable mentions.

Lucas Wilson, a senior from league-champion Churchill, and Nick Ah Sam, a senior from runner-up Springfield, were voted the co-Players of the Year, and Churchill’s Kelly Bokn and Springfield’s Eric Orton were named the co-Coaches of the Year.

Ashland, which finished the regular season in a sixth-place tie with Crater for league standings, lost to South Albany in a Class 5A play-in game Tuesday.

The Ashland girls basketball team was shut out in MWL girls basketball all-star voting, also released recently.

Cielo Gonzalez of Springfield was named the girls Player of the Year, and Terr Harrison of Marist the Coach of the Year.

Marist won the conference with a 13-1 league mark. Ashland did not qualify for a play-in game.

All-MWL Basketball


Co-Players of the Year: Lucas Wilson, sr., Churchill, and Nick Ah Sam, sr., Springfield.

Co-Coaches of the Year: Kelly Bokn, Churchill, and Eric Orton, Springfield.

First Team: Lucas Wilson, sr., Churchill; Nick Ah Sam, sr., Springfield; Spencer Hoffman, sr., Churchill; Kiefer Edwards, jr., Crater; Joseph Gonzales, sr., Springfield; Isaac Lange, so., Thurston; Mario Quintero, sr., Eagle Point.

Second Team: Cameron Hall, sr., Churchill; Cade Bates, sr., Thurston; Reow Jackson, jr., Marist; Levi Kincade, sr., Springfield; Mason Vranes, jr., Crater; Mason Miller, so., Thurston; Jace Krier, jr., Marist.

Third Team: Lucas Schwin, jr., Churchill; Peyton Fuller, sr., Ashland; Malik Pippa, sr., Ashland; Sterling Minor, jr., Thurston; Anthony Swanson, jr., Ashland.

Honorable Mention: Quinn Warshafsky, sr., Churchill; Dana Morrell, sr., Churchill; Zach Brown, so., Springfield; Andrew Villegas, sr., Springfield; Devante Bailey, jr., Thurston; Decker Tovey, sr., Thurston; Isaac Zachem, jr., Marist; Jake Hansen, sr., Ashland; McKane Ellis, sr., Ashland; Zakk Scott, jr., Eagle Point; Jax Bell, sr., Eagle Point; Trae Perkins, sr., Eagle Point; Tanner West-Woods, sr., North Eugene; Kanon Clark, so., North Eugene; Nathan Bohrer, sr., North Eugene.



Player of the Year: Cielo Gonzalez, jr., Springfield.

Coach of the Year: Terry Harrison, Marist.

First Team: Cielo Gonzalez, jr., Springfield; Emma McKenney, so., Marist; Lauren Eagen, jr., Marist; Kelly O'Malley, sr., North Eugene; Mallory Heard, sr., Crater; Isis Smith, so., Churchill.

Second Team: McKenna Gilbert, sr., Thurston; Claire Eagen, jr., Marist; Rebecca Durbin, so., Springfield; Lauren Haugen, sr., Churchill; Whitney Williams, sr., Churchill.

Honorable Mention: Nancy Regas, sr., Thurston; Kayley Elliott, so., Marist; Madison Ficek, so., Marist; Maddy Carrier, jr., North Eugene; Hannah Tyler, sr., North Eugene; Evelyn Kent, sr., Crater; Sydney Gray, so., Crater; Alexus Woodard, jr., Crater; Mackenzie Ryerson, jr., Crater; Aliyah Dade, jr., Springfield; Grace Huey, sr., Churchill; Kayla Nesbitt, jr., Churchill.