The 19th annual Ashland Sacred Walk to the New Year is coming up Sunday and Monday, Dec. 31 and Jan. 1, in Wesley Hall at the First United Methodist Church of Ashland, 175 N. Main St., Ashland.

Participants can walk a copy of the 11-circuit Chartres Pattern labyrinth anytime Sunday afternoon through just past midnight in the new year, or all day Monday, most of the time to live music.

The event is free, but donations are accepted to help cover costs of creating the space for an opportunity to reflect and make peace with the past year while walking to the center of the labyrinth, then focus on hopes and dreams for 2018 on the walk out.

The walk is open from 4 p.m. Sunday to 1 a.m. Monday, and again from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday.

All are welcome. Minors should be accompanied by parent or guardian.

On New Year’s Eve contemplative music accompanies the walk until midnight, when Hawkeye Herman and Friends (award-winning classical blues artists) strike a more lively, celebratory mood. New Year’s Day features periodic contemplative music.

For more information, call Elizabeth Austin at 541-482-4132 or email

Here's when musicians playing for Walk to the New Year begin their sets: Sunday, New Year’s Eve, 3:30 p.m. prelude with harpists Markell & Excell; 3:45 p.m., Goddess Temple Dancers; 4 p.m., opening ceremony with Elizabeth Austin and team, followed by harpists Excell & Markell; 7 p.m., Scott Allen McGuire, piano; 8 p.m., Pauline Sullivan, vocals, with Jennifer Schloming, piano; 9 p.m., Nancy Bloom, vocals; 10 p.m., Victor Novick, piano; 11 p.m., Elizabeth Markell and James Excell, harpists; midnight, welcome 2018; midnight to 1 a.m., Michael "Hawkeye" Herman & Friends; Monday, Jan. 1, 9 a.m: labyrinth reopens; 9 to 11 a.m. silence, no music; 11 a.m., threshold singers; noon, Victor Novick, piano; 1 p.m. Nancy Bloom, vocals; 2 p.m. Victor Novick, flute and Japanese koto; 3 to 4 p.m., silence; 4 p.m., Andy Bayliss, harmonium and chant; 5 p.m., Elizabeth Markell and James Excell, harpists; 5:45 p.m., Goddess Temple Dancers; and 6 p.m., closing ceremony with Elizabeth Austin and team.