|
|
DailyTidings.com
  • Festival Noons

  • The Oregon Shakespeare Festivals' 2013 Festival Noons series runs through Sept. 1. Lectures will be given by company artists and visiting scholars on Wednesdays and Fridays. On Thursdays, look for Preface Flus, 45-minute play introductions followed by 15-minute Q-and-A sessions. On Saturdays, there will be panel d...
    • email print
  • The Oregon Shakespeare Festivals' 2013 Festival Noons series runs through Sept. 1. Lectures will be given by company artists and visiting scholars on Wednesdays and Fridays. On Thursdays, look for Preface Flus, 45-minute play introductions followed by 15-minute Q-and-A sessions. On Saturdays, there will be panel discussions, demonstrations and hands-on workshops for all ages. Park Talks with company members will be held Tuesdays and Sundays.
    All lectures and Preface Plus introductions are held at noon in Carpenter Hall on the OSF campus. Tickets cost $10, $8 for ages 6 through 17 and may be purchased online at www.osfashland.org or at the box office. Park Talks are free and will be held at noon in the Bill Patton Garden.
    Here is July's lineup. Check back in a few weeks for August's schedule.
    • Thursday, July 11 — Preface Plus: "A Streetcar Named Desire."
    • Friday, July 12 — Panel Discussion: "Playing Women When Men Set the Rules of the Game," with actors Dawn-Lyen Gardiner, Nell Geisslinger, Kate Mulligan and moderator Alison Carey.
    • Saturday, July 13 — Interactive Workshop: Shakespeare's Characters, with Christine Albright-Tufts.
    • Sunday, July 14 — Park Talk: Actor Howie Seago.
    • Tuesday, July 16 — Park Talk: Danielle Richter, wig and hair run crew.
    • Wednesday, July 17 — Lecture: "Unexpected Heroes and Fantastical Quests: The Fairy Tale World of Cymbeline," by literary associate and dramaturg Lydia G. Garcia.
    • Thursday, July 18 — Preface Plus: "A Streetcar Named Desire."
    • Friday, July 19 — Lecture: "The Thing Itself: Directing King Lear," by OSF Artistic Director Bill Rauch.
    • Saturday, July 20 — Interactive Demonstration: "Stolen Jewelry and Shrewish Dames: At the Corner of Shakespeare and Noir," by Brian Lohmann and the Impro Theater Ensemble, Los Angeles, Calif.
    • Sunday, July 21 — Park Talk: Kaylyn Kilkuskie, stitcher and stage operator.
    • Tuesday, July 23 — Park Talk: Joseph A. Porto, musician and construction supervisor.
    • Wednesday, July 24 — Lecture: "Paduan Katherine and Imogen the Celt: Shakespeare's Taming of Himself," by Michael J. Allen, University of California at Los Angeles.
    • Thursday, July 25 — Preface Plus: "The Liquid Plain."
    • Friday, July 26 — Lecture: "The Monstrous Little Voices of a Midsummer's Night and the Nine Men's Morris," by Michael J. Allen, University of California at Los Angeles.
    • Saturday, July 27 — Panel Discussion: "Musical Math: How the Equation of 'The Unfortunates' was Built," by playwrights Jon Beavers, Casey Hurt, Ian Merrigan and Ramiz Monsef and dramaturg Lue Morgan Douthit.
    • Sunday, July 28 — Park Talk: Senior scenic and theatre Designer Richard L. Hay.
    • Tuesday, July 30 — Park Talk: Actor Isabell Monk O'Connor.
    • Wednesday, July 31 — Lecture: "The Bursting Hearts of King Lear," by Gretchen Minton, Montana State University at Bozeman.
Reader Reaction

      calendar