Print this ArticlePrint this Article Email this ArticleEmail this Article
Text Size: A | A | A

Low voter turnout expected today

Local school boards, other panels on the ballot
 Posted: 2:00 AM May 21, 2013

Jackson County election officials report a low voter turnout so far for today's district election.

County Clerk Chris Walker reported 14.5 percent of ballots had been returned by Monday afternoon.

"It's very slow, so slow — one of the slowest elections we've ever had," she said.

On the countywide ballot are elections for local school boards and boards of directors for fire, transportation, water, sewer and educational service districts.

In Ashland, all three races for the Ashland School Board are uncontested. Candidates are Deneice Covert Zeve for Position 1, Eva Skuratowicz for Position 3, and Jim Westrick for Position 4. All positions are four-year terms.

All four positions for the Pinehurst School District are also uncontested. Candidates are Russ Branson for Position 1, Tad Cobb for Position 2, Alison Kling for Position 3 and Benjamin E. Schumacher for Position 4. Positions 2 and 3 are for two-year, unexpired terms and the others are for four-year terms.

The Greensprings Fire District drew three candidates for three four-year terms. They include Terri Ayers for Position 3, Deb Evans for Position 4 and Robert Given for Position 5. Only two people are running for three open positions in the Colestin Fire District, Pam Haunschild for Position 1 and Peggy A. Moore for Position 2.

Voters must return ballots by 8 p.m. today. They can be dropped off at the Ashland library, 410 Siskiyou Blvd., or the elections office, 1101 W. Main St., Medford. Both drop boxes will close at 8 p.m.

Reader Reaction
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form. New comments are only accepted for two weeks from the date of publication.