Print this ArticlePrint this Article Email this ArticleEmail this Article
Text Size: A | A | A

Voisin leads Agee in council race

Results not official until Monday
 Posted: 2:00 AM November 21, 2012

Jackson County election results posted on Tuesday show that Ashland City Councilor Carol Voisin is leading challenger Jackie Agee by 28 votes.

The county is still working through problem ballots, such as ones that were rejected by tabulating machines, and will post official election results on Monday, said County Clerk Chris Walker.

At this point, Voisin and Agee are separated by enough votes that an automatic recount has not been triggered.

Either candidate can request a recount but must pay for the effort, which is done by hand, Walker said.

She said she didn't have an estimate on the cost.

Voisin and Agee would need to be separated by one-fifth of 1 percent of votes cast for them or less to trigger a recount. One-fifth of 1 percent would equal about 20 votes, Walker said.

Voisin is leading with 49.93 percent, or 4,884 votes, to Agee's 49.65 percent, or 4,856 votes.

"I'm still in waiting mode," Voisin said, adding that it's too early to start celebrating because results won't be finalized until Monday.

"Ashland has a history of close races. Every vote counts," Voisin said.

Voters listed write-in candidates on 41 ballots and 2,274 voters did not make a choice in the race for Position 1.

Agee could not be immediately reached for comment about the latest election postings.

She was winning according to early results posted on election night on Nov. 6, but the lead flipped as the county continued to process ballots that had various problems, such as signatures on ballots not matching voter registration form signatures.

Preliminary election night winners in other Ashland races have held their leads, according to the latest count.

Councilor Greg Lemhouse has 66.08 percent, or 6,303 votes, to challenger Keith Haxton's 33.67 percent, or 3,212 votes, in the Position 3 race.

Rich Rosenthal is set to take Position 5 after securing 42.37 percent, or 4,028 votes, against opponents Regina Ayars, who earned 38.77 percent, or 3,686 votes, and Bruce Harrell, who garnered 18.59 percent, or 1,767 votes.

Mayor John Stromberg will hold his position after getting 58.2 percent, or 6,378 votes, compared to 33.51 percent, or 3,672 votes, for former Mayor Alan DeBoer. Political newcomer Keith "Biome" Erickson has 7.82 percent, or 857 votes, in that three-way race.

Parks Commissioner Jim Lewis ran unopposed and was re-elected, while Vance Shaw won Parks Commission Position 1 against Vicki Tripoli, who said she would likely not take the seat if she won because of a family medical emergency.

Reader Reaction
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form. New comments are only accepted for two weeks from the date of publication.